01 July 2010

The Five Love Languages: Part 3 Physical Touch

Me and John with our Paris
Physical Touch

"Love touches are emotional lifeline of the person for whom physical touch is the primary love language."

As I mentioned earlier this week, physical touch is not my main love language, actually on my test I think I scored a 3% (hahaha).  I don't mind it at all it's just something that hasn't come easily for me.  It's something I've had to work on since my husband's top two love languages are Physical touch and Words of Affirmation.

For people who have Physical Touch as one of their main love languages, they NEED lots of affection and touch to feel loved. All of us benefit from the five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch, but we all tend to have one or two top priority ones that really fill our "love tank" as Gary Chapman (the author of the book The Five Love Languages) calls it. 

We've all met people who love to hug, or high five, or give pats on the back.  Usually this is a sign that their love language may be Physical Touch. 

Chapman says, "Physical touch can make or break a relationship.  It can communicate hate or love.  To the person whose primary love language is physical touch, the message will be far louder than the words, "I hate you" or "I love you."

There is also a Five Love Languages book for kids.  It's the same 5 languages for kids that it is for adults, but geared to little people!  Chapman says that, "A tender hug communicates love to any child, but it shouts love to the child whose primary love language is physical touch."

This is just a guess, but I'm thinking Julia's love language is Words of Affirmation (she lights up and blossoms with compliments and encouragement), and Mark's will be Physical Touch (he is such a cuddle-bunny).

I'm really enjoying looking over parts of this book again, and it's giving me great ideas as a wife, mom, and even a friend.  I've had a lot of my family members and friends take the Love Test, and now that I know their love languages, the possibilities to show them love in their language are endless!  It is so cool and fun to be creative.

If you're friend or family member's love language is Physical Touch, be sure to give them a great big hug today! xoxo

1 comment:

  1. Addie's love language is definitely quality time! Brian's is physical touch. Brian and I have been working for a while on speaking each other's language and it brings incredible closeness when you know the other one is really trying to show love in the way that you receive it!


Please leave an encouraging comment...I'd love to hear from you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails